Milestones in the history of the Endocrine Society of Sri Lanka


Founding of ESSL

Prof. Carlo Fonseka     – President

Dr. A. Nimalasuriya     – Secretary

Dr. R. Sheriff                 – Treasurer


Pituitary gland removal for growth hormone extraction

The use of growth hormone for short stature at short stature clinic of ESSL at the Department of Physiology, Faculty of Medicine, Colombo


Dr.  Kamani Tennekoon        – President

Dr. S. Dissanayake                 – Secretary

Prof. M.T.M. Jiffry                 – Treasurer

Dr. Devaka Fernando            – Editor


President-            Dr.H.N. Rajaratnam (1995 – 2003)

Secretaries –        Dr. Chandrika Wijeratne  (1995 – 1999)

Dr. Udul Hewage (2000 – 2003)

Treasurers –        Prof. M.T.M. Jiffry (1995)

Prof. Devaka Fernando (1996 – 2000)

Dr. Saroja Siriwardene (2001 – 2003)

Monthly clinical meetings started at National Hospital

Document to establish Endocrinology as a sub speciality presented to Ministry of Health, Board of Management PGIM, Board of Study in Medicine, Boards of Paediatrics and Obstetrics and Gynaecology


Committee established to draw up curriculum –

Dr. H.N. Rajaratnam (Chairman)

Dr. Devaka Fernando (Secretary)

First volume of “Endocrine Update” by Dr.H.N. Rajaratnam published


Endocrinology accepted as sub speciality. Prof. Devaka Fernando as the first Coordinator of the Sub Speciality training Committee


Paediatric Endocrinology established

President –          Prof. Chandrika Wijeratne

Secretary –          Dr. Noel Somasundaram

Treasurers –        Dr. Saroja Siriwardene (2004)                                                                                      Dr. Sumeda Wijeratne ( 2005 – 2006)

Meetings extended to the Provinces


Symposia at Annual Scientific Sessions of Sri Lanka Medical Association (SLMA) and Ceylon College of Physicians (CCP) arranged by ESSL

Joint meetings with Colleges of Obstetrics and Gynaecology  and Paediatrics and Association of Oncologists

New constitution adopted


Sri Lanka Initiatives in Diabetes Education (SLIDE) and Task Force for the Prevention of Diabetes (TFPD) inaugurated

“Endocrine Day” in conjunction with SLMA and CCP

“Diabetes Day “established

“Diabetes Walk” held


First Patron of the ESSL – Dr. H.N.Rajaratnam


President –           Prof. Upali Illangasekera

Secretaries –        Dr. Gnani Somasundaram    2007 – 2008

Dr. Prasad Katulanda            2009 – 2010

Treasurers –         Dr. Sumedha Wijeratne        2007 – 2008                                                         Dr. Uditha Bulugahapitiya    2009 – 2010

 First Annual Academic Sessions held in Colombo at Taj Samudra Hotel

First oration of the Society the “ Dr.H.N.Rajaratnam oration”  delivered by Prof. Chandrika Wijeratne at these sessions


Second Annual Academic Sessions held in Kandy

Editorial Committee of the Sri Lanka Journal of Diabetes,   Endocrinology and Metabolism (SJDEM) appointed with Dr. P Katulanda as Convenor


Dr. Noel Somasundaram – President

Dr. Charles Anthonypillai – Secretary

Dr. Sajith Siyambalapitiya – Treasurer

Dr. Uditha Bulugahapitiya – Editor

First issue of SJDEM published with Dr. Uditha Bulugahapitiya as Editor

First full time administrative Assistant to ESSL appointed

First “Thyroid Day” held

3 Guide lines in Thyroid Disease released


2nd “Thyroid Day” held

Introduction of the Mace, Cloaks, Presidential medal, Past

President’s medal at the 2012 Annual Sessions

Web site of the Society inaugurated

Consultation meeting to establish an Association of South Asian Endocrinologists planned for Jan 2013


Dr. H.N. Rajaratnam

Prof. Chandrika Wijeratne